Stuart Marais wins inaugural GO!Durban 100 MTB Race

First edition draws 300 riders to experience “active mobility at its best”

It all came down to a split-second sprint finish for the title of the inaugural GO!Durban100 MTB Race at Blue Lagoon in Durban on Sunday, 8 September 2019.

After a challenging 100km journey from Giga Gorge MTB Park in Pinetown, through the lush Inanda Valley down to the KwaDabeka Bike Park and along the Umgeni River, riders had to contend with the strong North Easterly wind to get across the finish line. Stuart Marais took the win, followed by Andrew Hill and Tyronne White. The group of three men led the race out of the start and made an early break away, putting a 30 minute gap between themselves and the rest of the competitors.

“It was a superb event, I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it. I was pleasantly surprised and super impressed with the route; the single track flowed well, it was technical and fun!” says Stuart Marais.

“The guys [Andrew and Tyronne] were riding very well and anyone could’ve taken it at the end. I was fortunate that I still had the legs to get around Tyronne in the finish stretch. I’m really happy to have taken the win and I’m looking forward to racing it again next year. I hope the event grows from strength to strength.”

The first edition of the event, which is an initiative by GO!Durban and the eThekwini Transport Authority, successfully attracted just over 300 riders to participate across three distance options (100km, 50km, 20km), all finishing at Blue Lagoon where a complimentary braai-pack from Bluff Meat Supply and a custom made wooden medal from iLeadLab and the GO!Durban Cycle Academy awaited them.

The race gave riders of all skill levels the opportunity to experience a premium mountain bike race in the heart of Durban. The immaculate trails were prepared by Peschl Sports and Green Corridors, and featured some of the best trails Durban has to offer, including beautiful scenery, flowing single tracks and exciting river crossings.

“We are thrilled to see the success of this race in our drive to increase and improve active mobility in our city,” says Mr. Thami Manyathi, Head of eThekwini Transport Authority.

“It is a great achievement for us to host an iconic event such as this to encourage citizens to enjoy the natural beauty of their surroundings and to lead healthy active lifestyles in doing so. We are especially proud of the riders from the GO!Durban Cycle Academy who took part and who continue to be our ambassadors for active mobility in their local communities,” he continues.

“We believe that we have delivered on our promise to create an unprecedented rider experience, together with support from our partners at Green Corridors and MOJA Cruise, as well as sponsorship from the private sector. We hope to see even more riders on the start line in 2020!”

The winners’ trophies were sponsored by Tilestyles AquaCut, Ceragran and Laminam, and gift cards to the value of R4500 for the winners of the 20km race were sponsored by La Lucia Mall. Water points were sponsored by Hoopers VW, Ceragran, Green Corridors, and Peschl Sports, with product supplied by Enduren Nutrition and Fuchs Lubricants South Africa.

Official Results:


Top 3 Men Overall

  1. STUART MARAIS 4:06:41
  2. ANDREW HILL 4:06:42
  3. TYRONNE WHITE 4:06:45

Top 3 Women Overall

  1. HAYLEY SMITH 5:06:10
  2. BRENDA POTTS 5:38:58


Top 3 Men Overall                          Top 3 Women Overall

  3. GARETH COOK                    3. MARION SYKES


Top 3 Men Overall                        Top 3 Women Overall

  1. MATTHEW RORKE            1. APHIWE GOGE
  2. DAVID HOOPER                 2. AMAHLE CANE


The full list of results is available at